My dog always wants to share my chocolate
But he can not have it
Because I know what he does not understand.
I was told as a child
that I could not play the bass
Because I was too small.
So a violin was placed in my hands
And I played my heart on those four strings.
But the chords never conveyed my song
Like I thought a deep rumble would.
I could hear myself in a pitch that did not paint my feelings.
My words cried when they should have bellowed.
And my songs became somber in my desperation to connect.
I am older now and I still do not understand.
I have not touched that violin in ten years
Because it is too small to hold the massiveness that is me.

Leave a Reply

